A home brewing oasis

Hop Spider

Here is my Hop Spider MKII. The first one I made had shorter bolts, probably a little too short and I knocked it into the urn on its maiden voyage.

While I panicked and looked around for something to grip onto it and fish it out it got hot in the boiling wort and consequently started to warp and buckle.

So I made another one with longer bolts. They are easy to make just make sure you use the thicker PVC fitting which I think is called DVW and is used for pressure pipe. Dont use storm water pipe fittings, they are too thin. I also used a paint strainer bag (Got all the items from Bunnings.)

When I throw my hops in I also throw in a stainless tap fitting to weigh the bag down a bit so the hops stay under the wort level. At the end of the boil I hang the hop spider above my urn until it drains out all of that “hoppy goodness”.

Hop Spider

Leave a comment